Streamate Review

March 17, 2016 4 Comments Reviews 4881 Views

streamate review logo

 

Payouts
5.5/10

 

Streamate pays a small commission of 35 percent, with the ability to set your own rate of up to $7.99 per minute.

 

Payment options are: check via regular mail, check via FedEx (USA only), wire transfer, or Payoneer. The only free method is a check via regular mail, with fees of $30 for a FedEx check and $40 for a wire transfer. Payments go out every week, with a good reputation of being on time. Minimum payouts are $20 for a check, $200 for a FedEx check, $200 for wire transfer, and $100 for Payoneer.

 

With large thresholds, low commission rate and average payment methods – the only redeeming factor for payouts is the incredibly dependable weekly payment.

 

Users and Traffic
9.5/10

 

“35% is the lowest I have ever seen, but they also have the best traffic that I have encountered.” -Scarlettlyn

Part of the reason Streamate is successful at keeping models at a measly 35% is their high volume of traffic. Streamate claims to use more marketing and advertising than competitors, and puts copious effort into their affiliate programs. This means they drive traffic directly to models’ rooms regardless of site placement, translating into real chances of paying users. Even if a model is inconsistent in streaming, traffic is regular and paying users are not rare. Many will ask for gold shows using tokens, but many models are successful with strictly private shows. Many, like NynaStax, agree that “gold shows are a waste of time.”

 

A user can take you to Premium chat, a pay-per-minute show that several users can pay to join. Or they can take you to Exclusive chat, also pay-per-minute but only for one user at a time. Generally, a model will set their Exclusive chat rate higher than the Premium chat. 

 

Technology
6/10

 

The Streamate platform is easy to use, although their Flash-based interface is prone to freezing and slowing down the computer.

 

Like most major cam sites, Streamate offers geographic-based blocking, cam-to-cam private chats, and HD availability. Basic functionalities like making text larger, changing colors, emoticons, saving chats, banning users, and adding notes are all included. Also, a model can connect her ModelCentro account and include embedded live shows on the fan site, while simultaneously directing Streamate traffic to the ModelCentro fan site.

 

What sets Streamate apart in technology is the ability to receive anonymous phone calls during Exclusive chat shows. Enabling phone calls makes high Exclusive rates more worthy, and users never see your actual phone number. Many paying users prefer calling and watching a model perform. 

 

Streamate also has a plethora of camera quality options, ensuring maximum picture quality within given parameters. However, their new version of broadcast encoder, dubbed Version 13 of SMBroadcast, is in Beta and ripe with technical issues. Performers get access and instructions for this encoder, which promises to help “achieve your best possible video quality.” This is only available for Windows with a Mac version in development. Even though I have more than the minimum system requirements, this encoder has failed repeatedly, leading me to turn to the mediocre yet reliable built-in Flash interface.
 

Support
5.5/10

 

“They just keep referring me to the manual for their SM Broadcast streaming program.”  -ShrunkViolet

This is a common complaint among models, and I have also experienced this.

 

Streamate only offers support by email, but despite this they do respond within a day or so. However, they will not contact you with a dispute or prior to suspension.

 

“I got an email right away from Streamate saying that I was suspended for showing my p***y on free chat.” -FitCougar

 

Due to the high traffic and competing models, complaints are quick to be sent and bans are generously applied. Streamate is quick to respond to customer complaints about breaking rules. Depending on the severity of it, this could lead to permanent banning and wages withheld.

 

They have always responded to my requests for support with technical issues, but the bugs reported for their encoder have yet to be fixed.

 

Streamate does not have a help forum or offer live support.

 

Reputation
10/10

 

Despite their low commission rate and technical bugs, Streamate remains a very reputable and reliable cam site.

 

It in fact persists as the top choice among large cam sites. “After trying 3 other sites (CB, MFC, and Cam4) it’s still my favorite,” says NinaChrome. Many models echo this sentiment, along with complaints on the shaky support.

 

Streamate also welcomes men, couples, and transsexuals.

 

Overall
7.3/10

 

Streamate is the ultimate high-volume cam site, with a trade-off in support and commission. It maintains a superior reputation.

 

Sign up for Streamate

Editor review

Payouts
5.5/10
Users & Traffic
9.5/10
Technology
6/10
Support
5.5/10
Reputation
10/10
Summary

Streamate is the ultimate high-volume cam site, with a trade-off in support and commission. It maintains a superior reputation.

7.3
Good

About author

Roxanna

Roxanna Crinis is a professional web model with over five years in the industry. She holds a bachelor's degree and is pretty good at Minecraft.

Related articles

4 Comments

  1. Emilia Song May 26, at 09:34

    You can actually set your price as high as $14.99 per minute now. Before if you emailed the site they could raise your rate above $7.99, but that wasn’t something widely publicized.

    Reply
    • Cat June 01, at 17:46

      That is very good to know! Thanks for your comment, Emilia.

      Reply
  2. Candyapplemilf March 17, at 10:14

    I have been on Streamate two weeks so far, and while the traffic is really good, and I can adjust to the 35%take…. I am absolutely floored that Streamate secretly raised by rate by $3. Meaning in my settings I’ve maxed out at$5.99… However when customers click they see a price of $8… I get 35% of what is listed…. And they pocket the additional funds straight off the top. That’s just despicable for both client and model.

    Reply
    • Cat March 17, at 18:44

      Are you sure you aren’t looking at the Premium rate as opposed to Exclusive rate? They are two different type of shows and usually Exclusive is priced a bit higher than Premium – I recommend checking to make sure that you have both rates set where you want them. I’ve worked on Streamate myself for a couple years, and I have never encountered any problem like this. Roxanna is quite right that they are a very reputable site.

      Reply

Leave a Reply